fromear2ear

Noteworthy progress in the community, anecdotes, recommendations, and more

SUMMER!

on June 14, 2013

I feel like a buzzkill. The kids are going all Alice Cooper over it, and I’m sitting here like “I think I have the vapors,” but with far less enthusiasm than Scarlett O’Hara. Mind you, I’ve already gone through over two decades of summer. Not saying I’m old- in the grand scheme of things, I’m “but a wee lass” at the ripe age of 21. My point is that I’m over the excitement. Water park? Nah, I’m good. A friendly game of chicken on the hot pavement? Count me out. I’m all summered-out.

However, when you work with kids, you don’t get to opt out of the sweltering Texas heat. Plus, the sunshine is good for us all. The thing I love about summer is getting to spend more time with the children! I frequent pinterest for ideas for activities to do with the kids and make an effort to keep a balance between indoors and outdoors. For anyone who doesn’t live in a state with heat like Texas, that might sound silly, but in July and August it will get so hot that it makes kids sick to be out all day. I am very fortunate to have a pool in the backyard at my parents’ house that I take the kids swimming in often, which is fantastic! They’re stronger swimmers than ever before and it’s much safer than the community pools. Cookie loves water and it’s great for sensory purposes.

I wanted to review some common Pinterest-inspired kid activities. If you can think of any I should mention, let me know! I love getting feedback and hearing from y’all! What are some of your favorites?

Hope to hear from y’all!

From Ear 2 Ear,

Amber

Leave a Reply

