fromear2ear

Noteworthy progress in the community, anecdotes, recommendations, and more

*Insert Rocky Theme Song Here*

on May 9, 2013

Cookie had her first big-time Special Olympics meet on April 20th, technically starting on the 19th if you count preliminaries (I totally do).

She worked her hiney off both days and had a great time! We made new friends, did our best, and had a good attitude almost the entire time.

Preliminaries were on a Friday, so she rode the bus to the stadium with her teammates. I met them there and had the priviledge of being Cookie’s road crew for the day. She did a wonderful job in her 50-meter! Second place!

*Disclaimer: I know it doesn’t matter what place she gets, but we maintain the right to celebrate. If she got third place, I’d say, “Yeah, third place!”*

We basked in the sun and sat on the picnic blanket talking and laughing with our teammates, taking pictures… it was great. That’s why I go every year. Since my junior year of high school, I’ve made an effort to make it out there every Spring unless I’m attending the basketball tournaments with my siblings. It’s one of the things that gets me through the first part of the semester when I need motivation.

On Saturday I was unable to attend her race, as I was participating in a flash mob for Autism Awareness Month on behalf of Hope Center for Autism. It was so great! I did make it to the stadium in time to see her softball throw, which was great! I will add pictures from both days of track as well as the flash mob.

I am honestly so exhausted from finals week that I am kind of wimping out on this post. My main point is that we had a great time and it was a great experience for everyone!

I promise to upload pics before I crash for tonight though! I love you all dearly and hope y’all are sticking with me even though I stink at keeping up with my blog! I’ll leave you with one of my favorite Irish Blessings…

“May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind always be at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.”

From Ear 2 Ear,

Amber

Leave a Reply

